Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to use the SDIL infrastructure?

The infrastructure, including technical support, is provided free-of-charge by the SDIL operation partners to any SDIL project. SDIL projects are encouraged to contribute a fair share, e.g. code artifacts or data sources, back to the SDIL initiative.


Does the SDIL own my data?

No. The SDIL matches datasets and research questions between partners. Using SDIL does not imply any obligations: yout data stays your intellectual property. Certainly, we rely on you sharing your knowledge and we are happy if you contribute the datasets and code from your projects to research in general. But you decide on your own and on each case individually.


Can I use the SDIL platform in my project?

Any research collaboration between industry and academic partners on real-world data analysis in the areas of Industry 4.0, Energy, Smart Cities or Medicine is a potential SDIL project. The application process, that typically can be decided in two weeks, is described here: application process.


How to become an SDIL partner?

Everybody who conducts a project on the SDIL infrastructure is a SDIL partner. You can apply now or contact your Data Innovation Community of interest for project partners and project ideas.


How can I try out the infrastructure?

There are no limits in terms of project size. Simply apply for your first project: you will see it is easy.


How secure is my data?

We strictly enforce access control to the data you upload into the platform. Other SDIL partners cannot see your data. The platform integrates state-of-the-art identity management and security measures. All data are stored on premise at a physically secured location at the SCC.


How many resources can I use?

It depends on your problem. With exclusive access to the platform, you can use all of its memory and CPUs for a defined period of time.


What problems can I solve on SDIL?

The SDIL provides unique state-of-the-art commercial in-memory analytics engines. It primarily targets interactive/real-time big data analytics. Look at our list of projects to get an impression of what is possible.


How is SDIL different from cloud solutions like AWS?

In SDIL you are working on the bare metal and optimized hardware. The pre-installed software solutions provided by SAP, Software AG, and IBM are fully-integrated and ready-to-use in all projects. Licenses for a large set of commercial analytics modules are already available, e.g. SPSS Modeler and SAP PAL.


How can I log-in into SDIL?

As soon as you have received your SDIL account, you can log-in into one of our login servers and start working with our offered analytics solutions. You can find details in the platform documentation. Alternatively, if you are an academic partner and your university is part of the Deutsches Forschungsnetz (DFN) you may also log-in using Shibboleth.


You did not get your question answered?

Häufig Gestellte Fragen

Wieviel kostet die Nutzung der SDIL-Infrastruktur?

Die Infrastruktur und deren technischer Support werden jedem SDIL-Projekt kostenfrei von den SDIL-Operationspartnern zur Verfügung gestellt. SDIL-Projekte sind angehalten einen angemessenen Beitrag zurück an die SDIL-Initiative zu leisten, bspw. in Form von Code-Artifakten oder Datenquellen.


Gehören dann meine Daten dem SDIL?

Nein. Das SDIL vermittelt Datensätze und Forschungsfragen zwischen Partnern. Durch die Nutzung entstehen keine Verpflichtungen: Ihre Daten, Ihr intellektuelles Eigentum. Natürlich sind wir darauf angewiesen, dass Sie Ihr Wissen auch teilen und wir freuen uns auch wenn Datensätze oder Code über einzelne Projekte für die Forschung bereitgestellt werden. Aber das entscheiden Sie alleine und im Einzelfall.


Kann ich die SDIL-Plattform in meinem Projekt nutzen?

Jede Forschungskooperation auf realen Daten zwischen industriellen und akademischen Partnern in den Bereichen Industrie 4.0, Energie, Smart Cities und Medizin ist ein potentielles SDIL-Projekt. Der Bewerbungsprozess kann typischerweise binnen 2 Wochen entschieden werden: Details zum Prozess finden Sie hier: Bewerbungsprozess.


Wie werde ich ein SDIL-Partner?

Jeder der ein Projekt auf der SDIL-Infrastruktur durchführt ist ein SDIL-Partner. WIr verweisen auf Ihr Projekt und Sie können das SDIL-Logo auch für sich im Kontext der Forschung nutzen. Sie können sich hier bewerben oder kontaktieren sie eine für Sie interessante Data Innovation Community um mögliche Projektpartner und -ideen zu diskutieren.


Wie kann ich die Infrastruktur ausprobieren?

Es gibt keine Einschränkungen des Projektumfangs. Bewerben Sie sich für Ihr erstes Projekt: Sie werden sehen es ist sehr einfach.


Wie sicher sind meine Daten?

Die Zugriffkontrolle zu den von Ihnen in die Plattform hochgeladenen Daten wird strikt umgesetzt. Andere SDIL-Partner können Ihre Daten nicht sehen. Identitätsmanagement und Sicherheitsmaßnahmen nach aktuellem Stand der Technik sind in die Plattform integriert. Sämtliche Daten sind an einem physisch sicheren Ort im SCC gespeichert.


Wieviel Resourcen kann ich nutzen?

Dies hängt von Ihrem Problem ab. Mit exklusivem Zugriff auf die Plattform können Sie für einen definierten Zeitraum sämtliche Speicher- und Recheneinheiten nutzen.


Welche Art von Problemen kann ich auf dem SDIL lösen?

Das SDIL stellt einzigartige kommerzielle In-Memory-Analysesysteme zur Verfügung. Es zielt primär auf interaktive Analyse auf Big Data in Echtzeit ab. Schauen Sie auf unsere Projektliste, um einen Eindruck zu bekommen, was möglich ist.


In wie fern ist SDIL anders im Vergleich zu Cloud-Lösungen wie AWS?

Im SDIL arbeiten Sie “bare metal” auf optimierter Hardware. Die vorinstallierten Softwarelösungen von SAP, Software AG und IBM sind voll integriert und in allen Projekten direkt nutzbar. Lizenzen für eine große Menge von kommerziellen Analysemodulen stehen zur Verfügung, bspw. SPSS Modeler und SAP PAL.


Ihre Frage konnte nicht beantwortet werden?